Want-to-Read Wednesdays ‘Ink’ By Alice Broadway

Hello and welcome to the very first ‘Want-to-Read’ Wednesday here on my blog. I’m excited to share with you the things I’m excited about, the books that are soon to release or just ones I haven’t managed to get my hands on yet. In an ideal world I’ll be able to look back on these when I do eventually review them in order to see whether they live up to my expectations.

As part of my work for a publishers I’ve got a fair few friends on Facebook who are authors. It’s a fairly incestuous (probably a poor word choice) community and there is a lot of support for one another’s books there. One such book that has been promoted on my timeline by this family of authors is the new title ‘Ink’ by Alice Broadway.

In is billed as the first installment in a series called ‘The Skin Books’ which draws up an image of those books they keep covered up in museums about witches because they’re made of human flesh and might scare the children. This is an apt association for the world of this series is one in which every deed, good or bad, shows up on your skin as a kind of tattoo, when you die this can be made into a skin book.

Based on the people I know who have been endorsing this book, I don’t imagine this is as gruesome as it sounds. What I gather is that this story is more about the secrets of the protagonist’s father’s life. Intriguing indeed.

I’m a sucker for a good Young Adult series and I’m intrigued enough by the concept that I do want to get my hands on a copy just to see what it’s all about. I am wary about starting a series which has not yet ended because I hate to not know how a story concludes and I suspect this is merely the opening to a more lengthy series.

We shall see…will Broadway have fallen into the traps which so often befall writers of young adult series? Will the protagonist be ‘quirky’ and ‘unique’ (paradoxically being alike to every young adult female protagonist ever). Will there be a love triangle? (I think I speak for everyone when I say please Lord no!) Is there going to be a cliffhanger ending that is then solved in the first 2 pages of the second book because it was a good way of securing a sequel? Well, that we may not know for a while. But yes. Well done Alice, your friends have piqued my interest, let’s see what you’ve got?

ink

6 thoughts on “Want-to-Read Wednesdays ‘Ink’ By Alice Broadway

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

