Top Ten Tuesday! ‘Ten Things On My Reading Wishlist’

Oh this is going to be a hard one to cut down to just 10 things! What do I want to read more of? Check out my list (in no particular order).

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the beyond amazing The Broke and Bookish. If you don’t already you should head over there and check out the list of all the amazing book bloggers who take part, it’s a great way to find other bloggers who might read the same stuff as you!

10) Friendships that don’t lead to Romance

Hello, I am a young (ish) adult. I have friends who I am in no way romantically interested in. I will never be romantically interested in them but they are still important and interesting people. Please could we have more representation of actual friendships that aren’t simply there to create sexual tension at any point later on? Please?

9) Diversity

I think (hope) this is going to be on everyone’s list so I won’t dwell. Write Queer characters and characters who are people of colour and characters with disabilities and that doesn’t even start to cover the list of what we should be writing and the people whose books we should be reading! (Definitely guilty of this myself since I read so much mainstream fiction).

8) Animals

Not disney, talking animals. I just enjoy a world in which the kind of animals that live there are considered. For instance, in a world where there are people with superpowers, why are the cows or the fish just identical to those on earth? Paint me a picture and make it a picture with cool animals.

7) Pirates

I don’t mind if they’re traditional pirates, sky pirates, undersea pirates, underground pirates (that would be cool) I want more pirates in my reading right now!

6) Really Evil Villains

I feel like there’s a trend for villains who have the potential to be redeemed. That makes sense, I can see why people enjoy them. But what happened to the Cruella De Vils of the world who are just terrible people that you get to hate and then who get their comeuppance?

5) Trilogies

So many series currently are four books and not three. I don’t mind too much but it would be good to have a really good trilogy again, there’s something about three books that just suits me to a tee!

4) Music

I don’t think I’ve read many books that mention music unless it is magical (Seraphina comes to mind as one example) but again it would just make me feel more immersed, most cultures have a musical tradition so why not fantasy cultures also?

3) Magic

I don’t think I will ever stop wanting more stories with magic in them. If I want to be transported from my drudgery I need a little magic to achieve it.

2) Multiple Female protagonists

I’m wishing for books that don’t have their main character as a lone wolf of a woman. Why not have more than one female protagonist? If one is good, adding more could only be better surely?

1) Dragons

You all know I love dragons. Of course dragons were going to be on this list. I want more books with dragons, I want books that do dragons in different ways to other books, I want traditional dragons and new dragons and somewhere in between dragons please please please!

 

Phewf! I’d better stop there, I’m sounding a bit like a petulant child. There are so many things I would love more of in the books I read. Any recommendations for books that might fulfil my requests? Also link me to your TTT posts in the comments I would love to read them (make my Tuesday, go on!)

 

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! ‘Ten Things On My Reading Wishlist’

Add yours

  1. Oh, I agree with so many on this list! Especially the friendships that don’t lead to romance. Especially between men and women. I have tons of guy friends I’ve never been romantically interested in… why do ALL friends in YA have to have romantic tension?? Also number 7 and number 1. I can never have enough pirates. Or dragons! c:

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a most excellent list! I totally agree with #10: while the best relationships start with a strong friendship, not every friendship has to turn into a romance. I’m also all for trilogies – sometimes that’s all a story needs.

    Here is our Top Ten Tuesday. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. yes to this entire list! I’ve been disappointed many times by friends to lovers and books with dragons lol which really sucks because so many had potential D:

    my TTT

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

