It’s Top Ten Tuesday! Ten Books that remind me of my Mum

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Aloha mortals! Yes it is that day of the week again. The day of the week where we look at ten books we might want to read, binge read other people’s lists and all in all get way too tempted to buy about 47 more books that we don’t need. Hurray!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the beyond amazing The Broke and Bookish. If you don’t already you should head over there and check out the list of all the amazing book bloggers who take part, it’s a great way to find other bloggers who might read the same stuff as you!

This week’s theme was ‘something mother’s day related’ which was a moment of panic for me since I was sure we’d already had Mother’s day in March. Of course the UK and the US have different mother’s days! Ah well, a good theme nonetheless, so here are, in no particular order, 10 books that remind me of my amazing and wonderful Mother.

10) Anything Pratchett

My mother was the one who fostered my love of the amazing late great Terry Pratchett and I can’t even look at one of his books without being reminded of her.

9) Anything Georgette Heyer

An author I have never read but have known my entire life because I’m fairly sure my mother has read her entire body of work.

8) The Roman Mysteries, Caroline Lawrence

My mum bought me the first in this series The Theives of Ostia when I was about…eleven years old, before a trip to Rome and I fell head over heels in love with them. They are basically to blame for my love of ancient history (I did a whole degree in it!) and I have my mum to blame for that.

7) Beautiful Map books

If I’m ever stuck for what to get mum for her birthday I will google ‘pretty map books’ because the woman is obsessed with cartography. I’m 99% certain she would stare at them all day if she could.

6) Illuminated manuscripts

Does this count? I’m going to count it. Much like the maps, mum adores illuminated manuscripts, I got her the catalogue from the Oxford Bodleian Library exhibition a couple of years back and I don’t think I’ve topped that gift since…

5) The Hobbit

I know this has been on my TTT list recently but I had to add it again since this is one of the first books I can remember my mum reading to me as a child. I’m not sure how much of it I really took in at that age but it’s a good memory all the same.

4) Ballet Shoes

When I first read this I remember Mum asking me which of the three girls I wanted to be (Petrova obviously). I think the copy I have is actually her copy passed down to me which is really nice.

3) Shakespeare

Ok not a book, but I do read them a fair bit. Mum was the one who spurred on my passion for theatre and for acting and she taught me (largely indirectly) so much about what Shakespeare is all about and how you can convey meaning in words that quite a lot of your audience may not necessarily understand.

2)Anything Ngaio Marsh

Another one of my mum’s favourites. Still haven’t read any myself though!

1) Everything

Is this a cop out answer? Probably. But honestly my mother is the reason I love to read so much. We have very different tastes when it comes to books but she always kept up the passion for reading I had gained when I was only little. She bought me books, she took me to the library, she supported me like she supports me in everything. I love you Mum. This list is not long enough to show you how much.

What did you choose to do for this theme? Link me to your TTT posts in the comments below or tweet me @judithcmoore.

8 thoughts on “It’s Top Ten Tuesday! Ten Books that remind me of my Mum

Add yours

  1. This is such a great list! It’s amazing that you fell in love with Pratchett thanks to your mum. I feel like he’s the sort of author that people fall in love with thanks to recommendations from friends and family. I know it was that way for me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. He’s definitely getting passed down to any and all children I have (or my friends kids for that matter). I feel like everyone can find at least one Pratchett book that they enjoy regardless of their tastes,

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

