Dragon Archaeology, Be still my beating heart! In the Labyrinth of Drakes, Marie Brennan, Book Review

Good morning friends! Yes. We’re here again with another excited review about the fourth book in the series ‘The Memoirs of Lady Trent’ by the phenomenal Marie Brennan. Last time we got very excited about sea travel. This time the archaeologist in me is happy to bring you this review of ‘In the Labyrinth of Drakes’.

Goodreads Summary:

Even those who take no interest in the field of dragon naturalism have heard of Lady Trent’s expedition to the inhospitable deserts of Akhia. Her discoveries there are the stuff of romantic legend, catapulting her from scholarly obscurity to worldwide fame. The details of her personal life during that time are hardly less private, having provided fodder for gossips in several countries.

As is so often the case in the career of this illustrious woman, the public story is far from complete. In this, the fourth volume of her memoirs, Lady Trent relates how she acquired her position with the Royal Scirling Army; how foreign saboteurs imperiled both her work and her well-being; and how her determined pursuit of knowledge took her into the deepest reaches of the Labyrinth of Drakes, where the chance action of a dragon set the stage for her greatest achievement yet.

I LOVE THESE BOOKS. I had to strain to get ahead of my reading schedule so I could fit this in even sooner and I read it in a day I was so excited. I would try not to spoil this for you but I don’t think I can because I’m too darned joyful at how this book panned out so consider this your SPOILER ALERT. Quickly go and read this book and then dash back here and froth about it with me!

There was so much archaeology in this book I wanted to jump for joy. There were inklings of it in the first three but here we had full on archaeology, they went and they excavated and it made me so happy. I could go on for about 17 pages about how great this was but I will just let you all imagine the smiliest smiley face you can.

Last review I said I wanted the romance to be good. AND IT IS. I was sat there in front of my phone screen (thankyou Library ebooks app) just beaming away. This was done so well and so in character for the Lady Trent we have come to love and I’m just so happy for her. If Brennan does what she did in the first book in the final chapter and dashes all my happiness on the rocks I may just have to sob for about a million hours.

The desert setting was also a fantastic change of pace from the last book. Brennan can conjure a location like few others can. It helped that it’s finally starting to get warm here, but I was certainly experiencing the heat of the desert alongside the characters at least in part because of her descriptive language.

I also liked that this book was quite a bit more scientific than the previous two. Lady Trent and Thomas are finally able to get stuck in to some real research (ok fantasy research but you see my point) and the way that Brennan writes their passion and skill is phenomenally compelling. I’m not a scientist but I imagine scientists would enjoy this element.

I have such high hopes for the final book in this series I cannot even explain how disappointed I am going to be if it doesn’t live up to them. I have the book reserved in the Library and as soon as it gets in I am going to devour it.

My rating: 5/5 OF COURSE

Please don’t spoil the final book for me, but please do leave your comments and thoughts below or tweet me (@judithcmoore) I would love to jump up and down in excitement with you!

J

 

 

5 thoughts on “Dragon Archaeology, Be still my beating heart! In the Labyrinth of Drakes, Marie Brennan, Book Review

Add yours

    1. I don’t know how I went this long without reading them? They strike me as the kind of thing I would have latched onto as a teenager but they must have been in the wrong place at the wrong time-or I was!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

