My Top Ten YA Fantasy Novels Everyone Should Read!

Good morning mortals yes it is once again Top Ten Tuesday and today I am looking at my top ten favourite YA fantasy novels. This is my favourite genre of all time so I could probably make a list about 500 books long and still keep going but for the sake of brevity I shall try and pick just ten. Doubtless I will forget some that are very important so I may have to revisit this in another post…in the meantime please enjoy!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the beyond amazing The Broke and Bookish. If you don’t already you should head over there and check out the list of all the amazing book bloggers who take part, it’s a great way to find other bloggers who might read the same books as you!

In no particular order (and with a fair amount of cheating and repetition)…

10. The Inheritance Cycle

Eldest

All four of these books pulled me in completely and I totally adored them. Paolini is apparently planning another book in this universe and I could not be more excited!

9. The Night Circus

9361589

We all know it, it’s almost not worth mentioning it’s so obvious. If you haven’t yet experienced this amazing magical and romantic adventure for yourself then you need to get your hands on a copy as soon as humanly possible.

8. Harry Potter

24548235

Again…this one is super obvious. But I do love this series and I think that so much of what they did was formative in YA literature in the early to late 2000s. If you haven’t read them yet then I would recommend investing in the illustrated editions of the first two. We got them for Christmas and they are just beautiful.

7. Queen of the Tearling

17415882

Ok I have yet to finish the last book in this series but I enjoyed the first two so much they deserve to be on this list. My nod to both alternative history fantasy novels (though there is an element of the future in these books too). Well worth an explore if this is your kind of thing.

6. The Edge Chronicles

1121393

I have a sneaking suspicion this is again cheating since I would probably say these are MG as opposed to YA but I read these as a teenager and as a young adult and I still love them. If you haven’t had a chance to marvel at Paul Stewart’s creativity alongside Chris Riddell’s artistic talents then you are missing out!

5. Daughter of Smoke and Bone

13600168

I could actually extol the virtues of this series for about seven hours if I wanted but instead I will simply emplore you with all of my being to read these books because they are amazing.

4. The Memoirs of Lady Trent

21893608

I talk about these books too much…but they are phenomenal and should be read my any and all dragon enthusiasts.

3. Seraphina

seraphine

Another one for the dragon fanatics. Seraphina and it’s sequel Shadow Scale both tackle dragons in a completely different way while at the same time creating amazing intriguing adventures.

2. Percy Jackson

28187

Mythology lovers like me will doubtless appreciate that not everything in this series is perfect (Ok I confess I only read the Greek mythology centred books because after that I got a bit confused) but they are a really humorous take on the topic and I like the clever subtle references Riordan makes.

1. Uprooted

22544764

I know some people hated how much hype this book got, but I really wanted to include a standalone and also a fairytale-esque title on this list and Uprooted is my current favourite in that particular genre. I loved the story and the characters in this book , I especially loved the magic mechanic which I thought was really clever, well worth a read in my opinion.

So there you have it, by no means an exhaustive list and if you have any recomendations I am listening. These are just some of the books that I would suggest to anyone who also enjoys reading YA fantasy books.

Please link me to your TTT post, I’m excited to see not only what genre you chose but what books made your cut!

Don’t forget to stop by tomorrow for Want to Read Wednesday…

Can’t wait to hear from you

J

 

18 thoughts on “My Top Ten YA Fantasy Novels Everyone Should Read!

Add yours

  1. I loved ‘Uprooted’, and ‘The Night Circus’. Have… strong feelings about the end of the Tearling series; perhaps when you’ve finished we can compare notes. My absolute favourite YA fantasy novel is ‘Sabriel’ by Garth Nix. I’ve been reading it since I was 13 and I still adore it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Night Circus!!! I read the novel in one sitting (cray cray as that may sound!) and I regret how fast I got through the novel. The suspense and building romance was just so enthralling and although it was a work of fiction, I found it utterly impossible to not to feel like I was a member of the circus, alternating between different time periods and experiencing and acting within the same world as the characters!
    Great choices! 🙂
    Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

