A Teen Angst Fairytale, ‘The Last Ever After’ Book Review

I think reading this series from start to finish took me about a year. The biggest gap was between the first two (which I read in two days) and the last one which I read ten months later so I had that fun moment of trying to remember what on earth was going on and who I was supposed to be rooting for – and in this book series that’s never quite certain.

Goodreads Summary: 

As A World Without Princes closed, the end was written and former best friends Sophie and Agatha went their separate ways. Agatha was whisked back to Gavaldon with Tedros and Sophie stayed behind with the beautiful young School Master.

But as they settle into their new lives, their story begs to be re-written, and this time, theirs isn’t the only one. With the girls apart, Evil has taken over and the villains of the past have come back to change their tales and turn the world of Good and Evil upside down.

What I loved about this book was the way that I genuinely couldn’t tell how it was going to end. At one point I had about 15 different ideas for what was going to happen none of which I was 100% happy with. But these books have never been a straightforward ‘good vs evil’ though that is one of the key themes of the entire series. Instead they look, in quite a lighthearted way, at how these two things interconnect, without being overly cliché.

I enjoy the dialogue in these books so much. The chemistry between the characters is well thought out and frequently manages to make me chuckle. It’s a great series where minor characters are concerned and this book is no exception, we meet some of our favourite fairytale characters (with a bit of a twist) and there are also the familiar faces of the students and teachers at the school.

This book felt a lot more emotional and action packed than the first two books, which I think is how the finale in a trilogy should be. There are twists and turns and highs and lows and it’s a bit of a ride. I have entitled this post ‘ a teen angst fairytale’ because at times it does tend to dip that way, there’s more going on in the world than two love stories surely. But, then again, the premise of this series is that the world does revolve around stories so maybe I’m being overly harsh. Also I can remember what I was like as a teenager and I was pretty angsty, I imagine if I were in a fairytale setting I would have been substantially worse than Agatha and Sophie.

The one thing that disappointed me somewhat was the ending. I do think that I wasn’t going to be completely satisfied however this book ended, and this was one of the better options, but something about it just felt a little clichéd or predictable or false. I’m not sure what ending would have been best, I’m not an author, but if I have to nitpick, this was the bit I wasn’t as big of a fan of.

I’m glad to have finished these three books (though there are more books set in this universe coming (called The Camelot Years)) and noone can deny that these covers are beautiful. I love when books have cover art that has clearly been drawn for this book alone, rather than being stock photography, it makes my soul feel warm and happy.

My rating: 4/5 (a whole star for the ending…I feel so harsh)

Have you read these books? Are they tempting you? Let me know what you think in the comments below or on twitter @judithcmoore.

Can’t wait to hear from you

J

You might also like:

25493853
The Bear and the Nightingale (review)
heartless marissa meyer
Heartless (review)
Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

