The New Voices of Fantasy, ARC Review

This is a well thought out collection of short stories from writers who are ‘reinventing fantasy right now.’ I have never read a collection of works like this before and I’m still not sure how best to review it without writing 19 separate reviews…

In the interest of brevity I’ll pick out some of the stories that really stuck with me.

I adored ‘Tornado’s Siren’ which is a short story about a girl whom a tornado falls in love with. Yes, you read that right. The tornado falls in love with her. This should be an utterly ridiculous concept but it was written so wonderfully well I wanted to weep at the end!

‘The Cartographer Wasps and Anarchist Bees’ is another story that completely captivated me. That title isn’t a metaphor. This is about wasps that make maps and bees that reject governance. A short story that, again, should not in any way work but it was phenomenally well written!

“The Husband Stitch” by Carmen Maria Machado was possibly my favourite story. The voice in this story is just so gentle it lulls you away from reality. It’s not a pleasant story to read, however, and the jolt away from that lull is powerful.

There were a few stories that were less my speed, though none of them were ‘bad’ as such. I think this is probably actually a strong selling point since there is bound to be at least one story in here that suits everyone.

As I say I hadn’t read any collections like this before and it did send me into a bit of a reading slump just because the short story format doesn’t let me get my teeth into anything. Having said that, I think this is just me and someone else would probably get on much better with the format.

I honestly won’t be surprised if, in a few years, a number of my favourite books have been penned by these authors, I am excited to see where they go next.

My rating: 5/5 stars for the sheer variety!

By the way, I received a digital advanced review copy of this title from the publisher (Tachyon Publications) in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

Do collections of stories like this interest you or do you need a bit more ‘meat’ in your reading diet? Let me know in the comments below!

Can’t wait to hear from you!

J

Don’t forget to stop by tomorrow for Top Ten Tuesday!

You might also like:

The Book Jumper, Mechthild Gläser.

The Trees, Ali Shaw

 

2 thoughts on “The New Voices of Fantasy, ARC Review

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

