Heist Heist Heist! Six of Crows, Book Review

I don’t think you can follow a YA fantasy blogger (or several if you’re me) without coming across the Six of Crows duology. So after a few months of reading about how amazing these books are and hearing that people were reading and rereading them over and over again I thought it was time to bite the bullet and get my own copy. And boy were they right.

Goodreads Summary:

Criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker has been offered wealth beyond his wildest dreams. But to claim it, he’ll have to pull off a seemingly impossible heist:

Break into the notorious Ice Court
(a military stronghold that has never been breached)

Retrieve a hostage
(who could unleash magical havoc on the world)

Survive long enough to collect his reward
(and spend it)

Kaz needs a crew desperate enough to take on this suicide mission and dangerous enough to get the job done – and he knows exactly who: six of the deadliest outcasts the city has to offer. Together, they just might be unstoppable – if they don’t kill each other first.

This book, in a few parts, had very much the feeling that I got from the film League of Extraordinary Gentlemen (which, if you haven’t seen it, is one of those films that is so bad it’s good again) and by that I mean it had a group of characters who, though you cared about the main plot that was going on, you care far more about finding out about who they are and their backstories. I can see why there is such love for these books for, as we well know, readers love to be able to establish a ‘favourite character’ and then there is the whole ‘shipping’ extravaganza and so on and so forth. Whether you are interested in that or not the point is that these are a group of diverse and fascinating characters that Bardugo hints at just enough to grab you and then promptly pulls you at great speed through the rest of the story.

And what a story! I adore a good heist, if it is done well. There’s something about knowing where a story is headed and what the goals are from the outset that makes you keep reading. Sometimes we read to find out what on earth is going on, sometimes we read to discover if what we hope will happen, happens. Both make for excellent reading and in this case it is the latter. There is also that question of whether someone is really on the side of the ‘goodies’ (it’s a bit ambiguous in this one) that just adds an element of danger that you don’t get quite so subtly in other stories.

I loved the world Bardugo created, the different ways of wielding magic and the prejudices towards those who do so. This is how you consider how magic works in a world where a select few actually wield it.

This book was so amazing I devoured it in a single sitting. Seriously my housemates watched in horror as the last 100 or so pages fell away before their eyes (apparently I am feeling a little dramatic this morning). If you’ve been on the fence about these books or, like me, you keep getting caught up in new releases, I can highly recommend heading into the back list a little and picking this up. I’ll let you know about the sequel soon!

What do you think? Agree? Disagree? Let me know in the comments below! Hit that follow button to never miss a post!

Can’t wait to hear from you,

J

You might also like:

And I Darken

Red Queen

10 thoughts on “Heist Heist Heist! Six of Crows, Book Review

Add yours

  1. I adore this duology. Got me out of a slump of 3 star average books. I read it while on holiday in Europe and could not remember the last time I’d loved a book that much. It’s one of my faves at the moment. So glad you finally decided to jump on the train and that you loved it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

