Want to Read Wednesday: Girls Made of Snow and Glass, Melissa Bashardoust

Bonjour mortals! I hope you are well and if you aren’t I hope your day/health/mood drastically improves at a swift pace. It’s Want to Read Wednesday again and this week (like last week) I’m talking about a new release coming later this year!

What is ‘Want to Read Wednesday’? I hear you ask (don’t fret I can’t really hear you). W2RW is when I talk about a book (or books) that I really want to read. It can be a new release, it can be a sequel I haven’t got round to, it can be a classic that I just haven’t found time to read but I know that I should. The only thing I need to know is that I want to read it! If you ever want to get involved all you have to do is tag me in your post so I can come and see it! It’s just that easy!

32768509.jpg

I think I first came across Girls Made of Snow and Glass in the Autumn/Winter Buzzbooks? Either way I was sold at ‘a feminist fantasy reimagining of the Snow White fairytale’. Yes. Yes please. Yes please to more of this.

I mean, using the word feminist to sell your book, that I’m not always keen on. It has become a bit of a buzzword. But if a publisher or an author calls their book feminist then I want to hope the best for them and I think, as a community, we’re pretty good at calling out books that falsely claim to be feminist or are non inclusively feminist.

But I’m all for giving this the benefit of the doubt, and it’s only by supporting authors writing feminist books that we’ll end up with all/most books being feminist and we won’t have to even use the word anymore because it’ll be a given (too optimistic? Probably).

I highly recommend checking out the Goodreads page for this book because I am horrendous at writing summaries! The hardcover version of this book (and the Kindle?) publishes on the 5th of September and you can preorder now (it’s currently priced at £14.86 on Amazon).

Will you be adding this to your TBR? What do you think of books marketed as ‘feminist’? Let me know in the comments below!

See you tomorrow!

J

6 thoughts on “Want to Read Wednesday: Girls Made of Snow and Glass, Melissa Bashardoust

Add yours

    1. You never know! I can usually find something redeeming about things, I’m a positive person like that. For instance, even if the character’s aren’t great sometimes the setting or the story is still well done. At the end of the day, nothing is going to be everyone’s cup of tea!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

