Will there ever be enough dragons? Moroda, L. L. McNeil Book review

You all know I love dragons. Well the next thing on my list of things I love is great female characters, the third thing on my list is sky pirates. Guess which book has all three? That’s right. Moroda. Now L. L. McNeil is an awesome human who has self published her own book. Which I think is pretty darn cool so a small celebration for her…

Celebration!

Now on with the review.

Goodreads Summary:

‘If one dragon burned the city of Niversai to the ground in a single night, how would we fare if a hundred besieged our world?’

Moroda’s life is thrown into turmoil after she is publicly arrested—her city is destroyed and she narrowly escapes the chaos on a sky pirate’s airship. But she finds no salvation outside the blackened city walls; a vigilante from an exiled race has left a trail of destruction everywhere his growing army has travelled. With compulsion at his fingertips, he strengthens his hold over Linaria’s people by stealing the power of dragons. It’s only a matter of time before she, too, is forced to submit.

With war nipping at her heels and danger lurking in her companions and adversaries, Moroda must quickly learn about herself, her world, and the dragons so intent on reducing it all to ash.

Character wise this book is pretty cool. Not only do we have Moroda and her sister as awesome female characters but the sky pirate captain is a woman? Yes please sign me right up where can I enlist as part of this sky pirate crew? I mean there are some cool male characters too, shapeshifters and city guards and other epic things. All in all, this has that flavour of ‘rag tag group of unlikely frenemies thrown into a crisis they weren’t anticipating’. Now I don’t know that’s an icecream I’d eat but it’s certainly a book I’d read.

This book is fairly fast paced, despite being quite long, so you don’t ever feel stuck in one place. That being said, I think I would therefore have benefitted from a handy map in the opening pages just to situate myself a bit more (but when you’re self publishing I imagine images are more costly than text so I won’t hold that against anyone). There’s a lot of action, there’s a fair few fights both in the sky and on land, all of which I enjoyed.

But let’s get to the dragons. I will always want more dragons. No amount of dragons will be enough for me. But there is a satisfactory amount of dragon in this book for someone who likes dragons a normal amount. I also thought it was great how the characters’ and the reader’s’ understanding of dragons developed as the book went on. I won;t spoil it for you but the dragon-y conclusion is pretty rad too.

I’m going to get nitpicky now, because it’s my job as a reviewer, but I think the one thing that would have pushed this book into the five star mark for me would have been a bit of a clearer focus on one character or a full commitment to a multiple pov story. I don’t know that I actually learnt enough about Moroda to consider her the main character but since the book is named after her she was clearly meant to be most important? I just would have appreciated fractionally clearer intent.

That being said, I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book (I actually ended up binge reading the whole thing in a day which was great fun and it did seem to pull me out of a bit of a reading slump. If you like cool concepts, epic journeys and, of course, dragons, I recommend picking up a copy of Moroda. Also, make sure you follow L. L. McNeil (and me) on twitter for updates as to where this series might be headed in the future!

My rating: 4/5 stars

By the way, I received a free physical copy of this book from the author (Thankyou so much) in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

What do you think? Are there any other self published books I ought to read? Let me know in the comments below. Don’t forget to hit that follow button if you want to keep in touch.

Can’t wait to hear from you

J

You might also like:

A Natural History of Dragons (The Memoirs of Lady Trent #1), Marie Brennan

Dragon Redeemer, Amy Bearce

2 thoughts on “Will there ever be enough dragons? Moroda, L. L. McNeil Book review

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

