Most irritating audiobook narrator ever? The Selection, Keira Cass Review

I’m late to the party again, I know that virtually everything that was ever going to be said about this book has been said. But let me add my voice to the pile!

Goodreads Summary:

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

I actually listened to this book as an audiobook while at work which should have been a really good thing as I’ve been trying to find a way to ‘keep reading’ even when I’m doing other things. Unfortunately for The Selection the woman reading this audiobook had one of the most irritating, whiney accents I have ever heard and I very nearly switched the audiobook off there and then. But I struggled through and once I got used to it, it was nearly bearable.

Sadly, this whiney voice only served to highlight those parts of the book that are quintessential whiney YA romance novel. I appreciate that America is a younger character than I am as a human and that I was certainly as melodramatic and angsty when I was her age but I just wanted there to be a character there to tell her to pull herself together.

What this book has going for it is that guilty pleasure appeal. You read it not because it’s great literature but because it’s kind of warm and fuzzy and even though there are terrible things going on you still get descriptions of beautiful ballgowns and they’re all competing for a handsome prince and…*sigh*

I’m not going to lie to you, I probably will read/listen to the other books in this series if I ever need some light relief from the reams of epic fantasy that sometimes rear their head (seriously I’ve read about 6 GOT wannabees this week and I’m miserable!) but it isn’t the most phenomenal piece of literature ever to cross my path. But fair warning to all pondering the audiobook…maybe skip straight to the print version?

My rating:3/5 stars

Have you read/listened to The Selection or any of the later books? Am I missing out? Let me know in the comments below and remember to click that follow button if you want to keep track of my reviews in the future!

Can’t wait to hear from you!

J

You might also like:

The Last Ever After 

The Book Jumper

One thought on “Most irritating audiobook narrator ever? The Selection, Keira Cass Review

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

