Elemental Magic! Roar, Cora Carmack Book Review

Good morning humans! Today’s book was the book that happened to come in the June Fairyloot book. This was the first time I didn’t manage to guess what book was going to arrive so I was pleasantly surprised to get a copy of Roar which I have been meaning to read since all the ARC reviews emerged in the blogosphere. So let me add my thoughts and feelings to the pile

Goodreads Summary: 

In a land ruled and shaped by violent magical storms, power lies with those who control them.

Aurora Pavan comes from one of the oldest Stormling families in existence. Long ago, the ungifted pledged fealty and service to her family in exchange for safe haven, and a kingdom was carved out from the wildlands and sustained by magic capable of repelling the world’s deadliest foes. As the sole heir of Pavan, Aurora’s been groomed to be the perfect queen. She’s intelligent and brave and honorable. But she’s yet to show any trace of the magic she’ll need to protect her people.

To keep her secret and save her crown, Aurora’s mother arranges for her to marry a dark and brooding Stormling prince from another kingdom. At first, the prince seems like the perfect solution to all her problems. He’ll guarantee her spot as the next queen and be the champion her people need to remain safe. But the more secrets Aurora uncovers about him, the more a future with him frightens her. When she dons a disguise and sneaks out of the palace one night to spy on him, she stumbles upon a black market dealing in the very thing she lacks—storm magic. And the people selling it? They’re not Stormlings. They’re storm hunters.

Legend says that her ancestors first gained their magic by facing a storm and stealing part of its essence. And when a handsome young storm hunter reveals he was born without magic, but possesses it now, Aurora realizes there’s a third option for her future besides ruin or marriage.

She might not have magic now, but she can steal it if she’s brave enough.

Challenge a tempest. Survive it. And you become its master.

Long enough summary for you?  I thought it might be.

So this book is a merchandiser’s dream. I can already see all the etsy sellers churning out jewellery, candles, quotes and the like. Honestly I don’t mind that. The concepts in this books are so appealing I’d love to wear a faux stormheart necklace (I mean I’ll take a real one but that might be defying the laws of physics a little). It’s because the concepts in this book are so clearly worked out and because the world building is so excellent that this is easy so it’s to the author’s credit that people have been inspired by her work.

This is a fantasy romance novel so if you’re not into romance you might want to skip this one, or just skim over the romance elements. Might be a bit tricky since a lot of the plot has romantic elements, I wonder if, as this series develops, that will become more or less important? As a romance, however, it does seem to develop throughout the book rather than simply being the most passionate love affair of the century after five minutes.

Characters? I loved Roar (the protagonist) I thought she was the coolest and I want to add her to my ‘young adult characters I would befriend’ list (I should make a blog post out of that list some time, or suggest it as a TTT?). What’s great about this book is that the supporting/side characters are also excellent and I’m stupidly excited to follow their story as the books develop.

It’s the concept of this whole world that sold me on this book and it definitely paid off. I will happily read this again and lend it out to my friends (yay having a physical copy!) and I’m also recommending it to you guys! Give it a read, you won’t regret it I promise! (If you hate it I’ll…send you good vibes for free).

My rating: 5/5 stars (should that be storm clouds?)

What say you? Is this something you’ve read/are going to read? Let me know in the comments below!

Can’t wait to hear from you

J

 

12 thoughts on “Elemental Magic! Roar, Cora Carmack Book Review

Add yours

  1. Got it in my FairyLoot as well, like three days after enthusiastically adding it to my TBR with the intention of ordering it as soon as my budget allowed it. Safe to say I was beyond happy when I discovered it in my box, haha!

    Couldn’t wait to read it so I dove in almost right away. Absolutely loved it and I can’t wait for the sequel – whenever that’s going to be published.
    And you’re totally right about the Etsy shops going to go nuts over this one. I haven’t looked for them yet, but I’ll probably be one of their customers, haha. I’d love myself some Roar-merch!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. No! Romantic fantasy? I’ve been really looking forward to this one and have tried (for the most part) to not read too much about it before I got around to reading it. Poop. At least it doesn’t sound like insta love. I’ll probably still give it a shot and, as you said, try to skim romance parts.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’d die opening up my first Fairyloot. The stuff that comes from that is gorgeous. I’ve heard of Roar on Goodreads and such, but I wasn’t sure if I’d be interested in it though. But I might check out after your review.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Chain Interaction

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

