Feathertide, Beth Cartwright – Book Review

Hello Humans! Today's book was pitched as being something for those who loved The Night Circus and The Bear and the Nightingale so obviously I snapped up a digital review copy and got very excited for what was to come. Alas...I found this book to be less than wonderful. Goodreads Summary: A girl. A secret. A life-changing... Continue Reading →

The Tiger at Midnight, Swati Teerdhala – Book Review

Hello Humans! I'm back with another book review - this time for a book I received for my birthday back in February from my in-laws - and one that I actually read back in June so it's doubly....delayed? But I loved this book so much I thought I'd take the time to give it a... Continue Reading →

The Challenger, Taran Matharu – Book Review

Hello Humans! I mean is it any surprise I went and read the sequel to the book that had dinosaurs and Romans in the same place? Potential spoilers for The Chosen ahead - but spoiler-free for The Challenger. Goodreads Summary: The stakes are higher than ever in The Challenger, the second book in the Contender YA trilogy by... Continue Reading →

Mini-Reviews June 2020

Hello Humans! Once again I'm back with mini-reviews - putting together my quick thoughts on books that maybe don't need a full review dedicated to them! The Alloy of Law I really enjoyed this book - love a detective story, love the Mistborn universe, love magic and Victorian technology meeting - yes it was good.... Continue Reading →

Goldilocks, Laura Lam – Book Review

Hello Humans! How are we doing? Ready for a bit of feminist science fiction? Of course we are! I recently (well...recently to writing this I'm not 100% sure when this will go up) read Laura Lam's Goldilocks which claimed to be "a bold and thought-provoking new thriller for readers of The Martian and The Handmaid's Tale."... Continue Reading →

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑