Am I being prudish? Breath of Fire, Amanda Bouchet Book Review

As my dear friend Britney Spears would say ‘oops! I did it again!’ by which I of course mean I read a sequel before I had read the first book in the series. I can’t help it! I don’t like waiting until I can grab the first book and I’m too impulsive to not pick up sequels when I see them. I’m working on it I promise!

Goodreads Summary:

SHE’S DESTINED TO DESTROY THE WORLD…
“Cat” Catalia Fisa has been running from her destiny since she could crawl. But now, her newfound loved ones are caught between the shadow of Cat’s tortured past and the threat of her world-shattering future. So what’s a girl to do when she knows it’s her fate to be the harbinger of doom? Everything in her power.

BUT NOT IF SHE CAN HELP IT
Griffin knows Cat is destined to change the world-for the better. As the realms are descending into all-out war, Cat and Griffin must embrace their fate together. Gods willing, they will emerge side-by-side in the heart of their future kingdom…or not at all.

So this is listed as ‘fantasy romance’ in quite a few places which actually makes the book seem a lot better than I was previously giving it credit for (I picked it up in the library where they don’t categorise beyond ‘fantasy’ so please no judgement.

But yes, the reason that not knowing this perhaps hindered my enjoyment of this novel was because what felt like around 50% of the book was just sex. No need to dance around the issue. Now I’m not overly opposed to a sex scene in a book but it did start to feel a little bit like a pattern of ‘defeat a monster, have sex, solve a riddle, have sex, battle, have sex’ which gets a little tiring after a while. That and I didn’t realise it until I was already reading the book on the bus and then I had that little worry in the back of my mind that people would be reading over my shoulder.

Now the story outside of the sex-having was pretty decent. It seemed to me to be largely based on Greek mythological characters in an alternative fantasy setting. So we have Athena and Poseidon and that whole crowd as well as a host of mythical beasts including a hydra which is always appreciated by me (though not by those fighting them). This part I enjoyed, the actual plot parts.

Maybe I’m a prude, maybe I went into this with the wrong attitude, maybe book one is the plot book and book two is the sex scenes who knows? Maybe you know? Share your wisdom in the comments below!

My rating: 3/5 stars just because even though it was enjoyable I don’t think I’ll be reading it again. Certainly not in public.

3 thoughts on “Am I being prudish? Breath of Fire, Amanda Bouchet Book Review

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

