Want-to-Read Wednesdays, ‘Spindle Fire’ by Lexa Hillyer

Why hello there fairytale spinoff. Please come sit on my bookshelf!

30163661

Goodreads Summary:

Half sisters Isabelle and Aurora are polar opposites: Isabelle is the king’s headstrong illegitimate daughter, whose sight was tithed by faeries; Aurora, beautiful and sheltered, was tithed her sense of touch and her voice on the same day. Despite their differences, the sisters have always been extremely close.

And then everything changes, with a single drop of Aurora’s blood–and a sleep so deep it cannot be broken.

As the faerie queen and her army of Vultures prepare to march, Isabelle must race to find a prince who can awaken her sister with the kiss of true love and seal their two kingdoms in an alliance against the queen.

Isabelle crosses land and sea; unearthly, thorny vines rise up the palace walls; and whispers of revolt travel in the ashes on the wind. The kingdom falls to ruin under layers of snow. Meanwhile, Aurora wakes up in a strange and enchanted world, where a mysterious hunter may be the secret to her escape . . . or the reason for her to stay.

Spindle Fire is the first book in a lush fantasy duology set in the dwindling, deliciously corrupt world of the fae and featuring two truly unforgettable heroines.

Sometimes I like to pretend that I don’t have a ‘type’ when it comes to books and then something like Spindle Fire crosses my path and I know for a fact that even if 40,000 ARC reviewers told me it was absolutely awful I’d still read it…and I’d probably still enjoy it.

Let me explain. I was raised on fairytales like some people are raised on cartoons. I don’t think we have it any more but I had this beautiful book of fairytales (my favourite was The Twelve Dancing Princesses in case you were wondering) with colour plate illustrations and I must have read that thing cover to cover so many times. Happy sigh.

What this has translated into in my later years is a…slight…obsession for any fairytale spin off, particularly in novel form. It’s why I enjoyed The Woodcutter which I know a lot of people really weren’t in to, I could name a whole host of retellings that I’ve enjoyed purely because I just enjoy being in that world where anything is possible. So sue me, for all my hatred of them I have become the cliché.

This published last week so hopefully I’ll be able to grab a copy and get you a review soon! Wish me luck chums!

(P.s. have you already read this? Am I getting my hopes way to high? Do you want to trade fairytale love?)

 

2 thoughts on “Want-to-Read Wednesdays, ‘Spindle Fire’ by Lexa Hillyer

Add yours

Let's talk!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑